Massive Assault Official Forum
   
It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Questions regarding MAN2
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 11:27 am 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 12:10 pm
Posts: 9
Karma: 0
Hello:

I have a couple of questions regarding MAN2.

(1) Is there a Macintosh version planned? If so, when do you expect to release it? Will the long-promised but never-delivered Macintosh version of Domination be released ever?

(2) I remember about 1 year ago, the developers said they planned on including a "Clan War" feature in MAN2. I understand it hasn't been implemented yet, but what will it be like when it is? Can you give us details about how these clan wars will work? I remember some player-run MA clan wars being incredibly complex, involving control of planets over a virtual galaxy. Will it be like that?


Thanks in advance. I'm still enjoying Massive Assault (the origional boxed version) on the Macintosh, and look forward to the day I can buy your product.

Zach


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:30 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:53 am
Posts: 259
Karma: 0
Hello Zach,

Thank you for your questions.

1. The porting of Domination on Mac is being performed by Virtual Programming. I'm not sure they will manage to release game, which is really sad for us.

2. Clan Wars system appeared really too complex for our implementation, that is why we released MAN2 without it.

At the moment we keep improving the game and new patch will boost the MAN2 performance.

Sincerely,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:25 pm 
Offline
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:15 pm
Posts: 135
Karma: 8

Location: Bern
@Nick: So does it mean that there will be no Clan Wars in 2007?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:50 pm 
Offline
Tough Nut

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:24 pm
Posts: 26
Karma: 0

Location: Vienna
If Domination is not appearing for mac, maybe you can release MAN2 for this platform? We mac users are forced to play with tedious bootcamp or slow parallels in order to have access to your great game. This is a pity. And I am sure a mac release would boost sales for your game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:28 pm 
Offline
Conscript
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:41 pm
Posts: 12
Karma: 0

Location: Sweden
And Linux of course! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 4:02 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 4
Karma: 0
After installation of a patch the cursor of the mouse was gone! What to do{make}?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:27 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 1
Karma: 0
Nick_WN wrote:
1. The porting of Domination on Mac is being performed by Virtual Programming. I'm not sure they will manage to release game, which is really sad for us.


Yes, we know that VPL is supposed to do the port to Mac, but reality seems to be somewhat different... Is it possible to work with another company to do this? I absolutely love MA -- its one of my favorite games, I have no idea how many hours of sleep I have lost playing it, but... VPL's implementation of your code was not ideal (e.g. slow game play after a while, the infamous disappearance of previously ordered units after disclosing a country, etc.). Now they seem to have dropped the ball with Domination... And who knows when (or IF) they will get around to doing MAN2? (And if it will be as good as the original when it eventually does come out?...)

Sorry, its just frustrating! I hate Windows, but this game has come close to tempting me to get a lousy Windows box just to play MAN2!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 12:46 pm 
Offline
Tough Nut

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:24 pm
Posts: 26
Karma: 0

Location: Vienna
k-red wrote:
Nick_WN wrote:

Sorry, its just frustrating! I hate Windows, but this game has come close to tempting me to get a lousy Windows box just to play MAN2!!


Yeah its really frustrating that they dont support the mac. Well at least I can play CivIV with my new macbook. I heard that EA and Id will release all their new games simulataneously for PC and mac in the future. Thats great news for us mac user. Blizzard does this already with each of its games and now 2 further big players in the industry does it too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:44 am 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:45 pm
Posts: 9
Karma: 0
personnally, I'd prefer a version of the game that's not as flashy but can be played either from the web or from a laptop without a massive graphic card. We're talking about a strategy game, not an action thing. All those fancy graphics get useless really quickly, all I ever use is zoom in/out.

Can't you do something in Flash instead?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y