Massive Assault Official Forum
   
It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:01 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MAN2 Question
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:31 am 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:28 am
Posts: 1
Karma: 0
Hey,

Not too sure where to pop this, since the prompts aren't very helpful, but is there a way to scale the AI of the two computer-controlled opponents at all?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:38 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:53 am
Posts: 259
Karma: 0
Hello Jimmy,

Can you please explain what you meant?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:14 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 425
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
I think he means can you change the difficulty of games you play with the AI ie--can you make it so they are dumb or very smart or someplace in between. I think the answer is no--they are programed to play or respond in a certain way and they will do this without change.

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:36 am 
Offline
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:15 pm
Posts: 135
Karma: 8

Location: Bern
I'm not sure but you can try to change these settings in settings.ini:

...
UseNewAi = 1
UseNewAi2 = 1
AiSimulation = 0
AI2UseTransports = 1
AI2UseAviation = 1
...
AILevel=2
...

I think with no use of transports and aviation you get a really dumb AI. Maybe a dev can explain how changes affect the AI.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:35 am 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:45 am
Posts: 282
Karma: 0
Morn wrote:
I'm not sure but you can try to change these settings in settings.ini:

...
UseNewAi = 1
UseNewAi2 = 1
AiSimulation = 0
AI2UseTransports = 1
AI2UseAviation = 1
...
AILevel=2
...

I think with no use of transports and aviation you get a really dumb AI. Maybe a dev can explain how changes affect the AI.


(If possible some thoughts :)
Changing this settings is a bit unfair I think. With a "dumb" AI you could win over and over, making your rank go up and up. (Ok I know you don't gain much against AI, but still, all little things combined makes one huge thing)
On the other hand it would be nice for new players, to give a feeling that this game, heu, isn't "unbeatable"...

_________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:08 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 425
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
I might be wrong on this but i think that after a certain number of AI matches points are no longer given for wins.

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:16 pm 
Offline
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:15 pm
Posts: 135
Karma: 8

Location: Bern
And I thought that you can't gain any points by playing against the AI. :o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:00 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 425
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
How did you think i gathered enought points to become a general? :wink:

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:24 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:45 am
Posts: 282
Karma: 0
storm440 wrote:
I might be wrong on this but i think that after a certain number of AI matches points are no longer given for wins.


Could be true. I don't gain much points against AI anymore, like 10 - 15 or something?

_________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:01 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:17 am
Posts: 620
Karma: 4
I am really curious about gaining/losing points against AI.
It would be very nice if the play-skill of AI could be changed, to give players who like or need AI to have that choice. I played AI maybe twice, early on when I thought that Emily was a real person.
It is an excellent way for beginners to get started.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 7:43 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:53 am
Posts: 259
Karma: 0
AI points:

It all depends on your skill level: if you're newbie, you're getting quite a lot points for AI-games. When you're in the middle, you're to get 1-2 points.

And finally top players get no score for winning AI.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:18 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:17 am
Posts: 620
Karma: 4
Thank you.
Is there any difference between the two AI "players"?
Which is the most fun on a date?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:23 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:45 am
Posts: 282
Karma: 0
Kate seems to be much more strict then Emily =)
They both can handle my rocket launcher though..

_________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:21 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:17 am
Posts: 620
Karma: 4
Oh Thanks,
The best way to extinguish a rocket launcher is to sneak up on it with an Ostrich via transport. Problem licked!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 4:03 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 4
Karma: 0
After installation of a patch the cursor of the mouse was gone! What to do{make}?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:39 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 290
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.net
Manually delete data folder in your MAN2 folder. And install the patch to the same folder.

Or just install MAN2 to a folder where MAN2 has never been installed before.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y