Massive Assault Official Forum
   
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Game server has returned an error: Failed to unpack packet
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:29 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:25 pm
Posts: 1
Karma: 0
Downloaded demo from file planet version 2.0.233 and every time I try to regester, I get this error. So I uninstalled and downloaded the demo from your website, same version (the newest right?) and still am unable to register and get the message above. I've been trying over and over for several days and nothing seems to work. Tried multiple alias, and names and different passwords thinking something I was doing wasnt taking.

Please help, would really like to try your game, especially before considering buying.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Game server has returned an error: Failed to unpack pack
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:18 am 
Offline
Sea Wolf

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:10 am
Posts: 307
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.net
swiftasfeather wrote:
Downloaded demo from file planet version 2.0.233 and every time I try to regester, I get this error. So I uninstalled and downloaded the demo from your website, same version (the newest right?) and still am unable to register and get the message above. I've been trying over and over for several days and nothing seems to work. Tried multiple alias, and names and different passwords thinking something I was doing wasnt taking.

Please help, would really like to try your game, especially before considering buying.

Will you please send us the folowing info to support@massiveassault.com?
-aliases you were trying to enter
-a bugreport
-some screenshots with "Game server has returned an error: Failed to unpack packet" message

And try to create a profile once again, maybe there were some problems with the server.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:33 am 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:26 am
Posts: 2
Karma: 0
I have the same problem i've tried My nick(Baster) with random numbers at the end but always with the same answer...why don't you make the battles aginst AI as a usual singleplayer mode without any registering or other unuseful ...ts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:36 am 
Offline
Sea Wolf

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:10 am
Posts: 307
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.net
Iam still waiting for your letters with the necessary files.
Meanwhile please make sure that port 6006 for gameserver, and 6544 for chat server are not blocked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:54 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:51 pm
Posts: 1
Karma: 0
I, too, have this problem, and is there an in-game screenshot i can use? because i don't have fraps. I also don't know how to get a bug report. I tried to use the alias Uhjoebilly. Hope some of this helps. I just got this game today ;).
It specifically says:
"Connecting to Game Server...
Game Server has returned an error:
wrong packet"

Edit: What you asked for has been sent... well, is being sent. Kind of a big image file ;-P.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 5:52 am 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:26 am
Posts: 2
Karma: 0
Ive sent some screens and i hope it was bugreport what ive sent, so lets see
if my adiction will find some satisfaction


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:04 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:46 pm
Posts: 2
Karma: 0
Was this ever resolved, as I too am getting this error now.

Edit Saturday 17 Feb: I sit here and wonder about this thread. Four "potential" customers, all with the same problem and note the thread count, as of today, for each:

swiftasfeather: 1
Baster: 2
Uhjoebilly: 1
OGRE: 2

The lack of any further posts is not a good omen. If any of you other folks are still around, and have solved your issues (perhaps under a different name), please let me know. Otherwise, I must presume this issue is unresolvable and will move on to other endeavors.

If, per chance, I (or the developers) solve the problem, I will come back here and post the solution that worked for me. On the other hand, my silence, along with the silence of those who came before me, will serve as testament for those hereafter that if you should experience this error on first contact, you can save much time and energy by moving along to something else.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:46 am 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 4:42 pm
Posts: 9
Karma: 0
I am getting this error as well. Rather disappointing, as I very much enjoyed both the original Massive Assault and the first Massive Assault Network, of which I was a subscriber for quite a while.

Screenshot image and bug report are attached.


Attachments:
File comment: Bug report
bug_report.gz [28.16 KiB]
Downloaded 268 times
File comment: Screenshot of error message
man2.JPG
man2.JPG [ 172.09 KiB | Viewed 6594 times ]

_________________
MA nick: unic (not accepting new games)
MAN nick: unicorn (accepting random sides or paired games)
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:39 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 290
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.net
We are sorry for the long silence. Actually, I start solving problems when I receive a letter. Posting to a forum is good if you did not get any answer from support team. Although Inna reads forum I rarely do this 'cause I'm very busy with fixing bugs.

Fist, send a letter to support, then your problem could be fixed much faster.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:51 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:44 pm
Posts: 14
Karma: 0
have the same problem, with:

demo: v2.0.243
login: eischel

and the messages:

- connecting to game server
- game server has returned an error
- failed to unpack packet

i've even disabled the firewall, to test..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:33 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 290
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.net
It seems I've solved the problem. PLease try again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:47 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:44 pm
Posts: 14
Karma: 0
artmax wrote:
It seems I've solved the problem. PLease try again.


thanks, its working now..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 5:03 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:00 pm
Posts: 1
Karma: 0
your problem is back :(

i submitted a letter with screenshot and the dxdiag as asked.. any idea as to how i can fix this problem?

i know its not firewall related as i have removed this temporarily.

what can i do?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y